New Kid

New Kid

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
2
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worldś”and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?
Publisher: 2019.
ISBN: 9780062691217
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
z
Zarapejman123
Jun 22, 2019

Summer Reading Teen Club book Review!

This book looks kinda corny and not that great and I thought I wouldn't like. This book is AWESOME!!!!!! It talks about so many great things I definitely recommend this book! Jerry craft keeps it interesting with all the funny pictures! I love Jordon's drawings!

JCLChrisK May 21, 2019

This is a wonderfully understated series of glimpses into Jordan's efforts to fit into a new school in 7th grade. All the awkward social interactions where he feels different that might be due to his newness but might also be due to the color of his skin, his neighborhood, or his socioeconomic status. Sometimes not-so-maybe, but still hard to articulate and explain, and caught up in all the other complexities of social dynamics. Jordan has trouble making friends and finding his place BOTH because he's a poor black kid in a rich private school and because it's hard for everyone no matter who they are. The book never gets preachy, just lets readers share Jordan's experiences and feel their own reactions. Authentic and nicely done.

s
stepha89
May 21, 2019

Combines all the awkwardness of middle school with themes of race and class. Elementary and middle school kids will likely be drawn to the voice. A complete delight to read.

OPL_KrisC May 14, 2019

A though-provoking graphic novel for kids with themes of friendship, racism and learning to belong. For fans of Raina Telgemeier, Gene Luen Yang & Terri Libenson.

ArapahoeMary Apr 12, 2019

Jordan is the new kid at a private school - and one of only a handful of children of color. He struggles against being "othered" but manages to find his place while fighting against stereotypes and assumptions. Told from Jordan's point of view and including his own artwork, this graphic novel will resonate with and be enjoyed by all kinds of middle school and elementary age kids.

Age

Add Age Suitability
s
stepha89
May 21, 2019

stepha89 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

OPL_KrisC May 14, 2019

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top