The Daughter's Tale

The Daughter's Tale

A Novel

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"[B]reathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart." -- The New York Times

"Searing." -- People

"Immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive, steeped in harrowing historical events and heroic acts of compassion that will have you reflecting on the best and worst the human heart has to offer." --Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl , an unforgettable family saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls , We Were the Lucky Ones , and The Alice Network.

BERLIN, 1939 . The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the south of France, where the widow of an old friend of her husband's has agreed to take her in. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter­rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice.

NEW YORK, 2015 . Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Despite Elise's best efforts to stave off her past, seven decades of secrets begin to unravel.

Based on true events, The Daughter's Tale chronicles one of the most harrowing atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during the war. Heart­breaking and immersive, it is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival, and redemption.
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2019.
Edition: Atria Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501187933
9781501187940
9781501187957
Characteristics: 303 pages ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Caistor, Nick - Translator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top