Missing Joseph

Missing Joseph

Book - 1993
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Deborah and Simon St. James have taken a holiday in the winter landscape of Lancastershire, hoping to heal the growing rift in their marriage. But in the barren countryside awaits bleak news: The vicar of Wimslough, the man they had come to see, is dead--a victim of accidental poisoning. Unsatisfied with the inquest ruling and unsettled by the close association between the investigating constable and the woman who served the deadly meal, Simon calls in his old friend Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley. Together they uncover dark, complex relationships in this rural village, relationships that bring men and women together with a passion, with grief, or with the intention to kill. Peeling away layer after layer of personal history to reveal the torment of a fugitive spirit, Missing Joseph is award-winning author Elizabeth George's greatest achievement.
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 1993.
ISBN: 9780553092530
Characteristics: 496 p. ; 24 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Mar 11, 2019

As with the other Inspector Lynley books, this deals skillfully with a very uncomfortable subject. The continuing story of the main characters & their relationships is important, & the books need to be read in order because of the progression of those relationships.

May 27, 2018

Missing Joseph is the 6th book in the author's series. The series has a total of 20 titles;


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at CPL

To Top