With No One as Witness

With No One as Witness

Large Print - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:

"[A] juicy serial killer whodunit."
--USA Today

"Delicately textured...achingly compassionate....It's one of George's best, and that's saying something."
--Seattle Times

The 13th novel in Elizabeth George's acclaimed, New York Times bestselling Inspector Linley crime fiction series, With No One as Witness is arguably the most riveting, shocking, and emotionally compelling of the lot. The hunt for a serial killer who has been murdering and mutilating young boys in London has Scotland Yard Detective Superintendent Thomas Lynley and his team of investigators racing to stop the slaughter, only to have the investigation nearly derailed by one devastating, truly game changing event. An American author, George has been praised as "a master of the British mystery" by the New York Times, one of only two Yanks whose crime novels have been adapted for the PBS TV series, "Mystery," and her exceptional police procedurals rank with the best of Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson, and Ruth Rendell.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, c2005.
Edition: 1st Harper large print ed.
ISBN: 9780060759407
Characteristics: 1158 p. (large print) ; 23 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Apr 05, 2019

I gave up on Elizabeth George after this book. I couldn't see the point in the way events unfolded, and I think I just became tired of all the angst. She writes well, but I much prefer Dorothy L. Sayers, P.D. James and Susan Wittig Albert. At times I wanted to give Lord Lynley a good slap! I suppose I lost sympathy with the characters, and was also exasperated by what I saw as an entirely gratuitous killing, and, for me, that was the end of this series.

Apr 05, 2018

I'm reading the entire Lynley series in order and found myself thoroughly involved in the solving of this mystery. The author makes the characters so believable that you feel like a fly on the wall, watching a real police investigation (complete with all of the conflicts that arise among the ranks). Unlike other detective series, not every suspect in this one will capitulate and admit all of their sins (once the detective divulges what damning evidence they have on them).

CMLibrary_jrobinson Jul 06, 2016

This installment of the Thomas Lynley series uses George's style of gradually revealing her characters' honest and sometimes disturbing motives and actions.

Jun 29, 2015

There was a period of time that I enjoyed EG mysteries & the TV series of Lynley. I couldn't bother to continue listening to this one beyond the 2nd disc. Nattering chatter of uninteresting characters. Very few authors hold up after several 'hits'. Will I bother trying others, even recent reads?

maricbuchan Apr 29, 2014

Together with "what came before he shot her" this duo of books can be conisdered oteo of the best written and developed myetery histories; Elizabeth George,master!

Dec 21, 2010

Barbara Havers of new scotland yard. British.


Add a Summary
FavouriteFiction Oct 27, 2009

Inspector Lynley, his partner, Barbara Havers, and Detective Winston Nkata search for a killer who is picking off young boys who have attended a teen rehab centre.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at CPL

To Top