The Best School Year Ever

The Best School Year Ever

Book - 1994
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
3
The six horrible Herdmans, the worst kids in the history of the world, cause mayhem throughout the school year.
Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, 1994.
ISBN: 9780060230395
0060230398
Branch Call Number: J/ROBI
Characteristics: 117 p. 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
darladoodles
Feb 01, 2021

Loosely organized around the theme of Compliments for Classmates and a school year, this second book continues the exploits of the Herdmans. Beth is our narrator and Imogene Herdman is in her class. The assignment is to think of one genuine compliment for each classmate. Then one name will be assigned to you for additional accolades. What if Beth draws Imogene? Will she be able to think of enough good things to say? Beth keeps track of the things she observes about Imogene. How Imogene is sympathetic when a little boy needs his blanket. How she figures out a way to help little Boyd get his head out of the bike rack. Perhaps there is more to this family than meets the eye. A great reminder to value those who are different from us. Perfect for fans of 'Homer Price' and 'Mercy Watson.'

h
hadlock
Jul 26, 2020

The Herdmans are back--not as funny as the first book--but still worth reading. Our narrator spends the whole year of academic hi-jinks trying to think up compliments for Imogene Herdman before the end of the year. The ending is heartwarming, just like the Christmas story. Again, the narrator's dad gets most of the good lines.

JCLHeatherM Jan 25, 2019

When the children of Woodrow Wilson School participate in a 'Compliment for Classmates' project, Beth is assigned one of the school bullies - Imogene Herdman. Imogene and her siblings terrorize teachers and classmates alike - from tattooing heads to putting animals down people's backs. Beth recalls a year's worth of misadventures and accidents in order to find a compliment for Imogene - proving that there really is a little bit of good in everyone.

b
brown_bat_62
Nov 06, 2014

The Herdmans are hilarious.

Age

Add Age Suitability
b
brown_bat_62
Dec 17, 2014

brown_bat_62 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 6 and 11

violet_dove_128 Jun 30, 2012

violet_dove_128 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and under

CBearjkn Dec 12, 2011

CBearjkn thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top